Saturday, 2 July 2011

Scab Labour - which Northern Labour MPs heeded Red Ed's call to cross picket lines this week?

Following Ed Miliband's call for his MPs to cross PCS picket lines at the Houses Parliament this week, the Labour Partisan blog has done some research to find out which MPs took place in Parliamentary debates on that day, and therefore did cross picket lines. We thought we'd filter from that list MPs from the North and highlight any particular past & present affiliations they have to trade unions. Here's the list:

Roberta Blackman-Woods (City of Durham)
Barry Sheerman (Huddersfield)
Natascha Engel (North East Derbyshire) - ex-BECTU & GPMU member, ex-Labour Party Trade Union Liaison Officer
Mary Creagh (Wakefield) - GMB member
Jamie Reed (Copeland)
Angela Smith (Penistone and Stocksbridge) UNISON member
Luciana Berger (Liverpool, Wavertree) ex-NUS National Executive member
Ivan Lewis (Bury South)
Gerry Sutcliffe (Bradford South) - ex deputy branch secretary of SOGAT
Helen Jones (Warrington North)
Paul Blomfield (Sheffield Central) ex-NUS National Executive member
Lindsay Hoyle (Deputy Speaker; Chorley)
Edward Balls (Morley and Outwood)
Denis MacShane (Rotherham) ex NUJ president, ex International Metal Workers' Federation policy director
Louise Ellman (Liverpool, Riverside)
George Howarth (Knowsley)
Steve Rotheram (Liverpool, Walton)
Stephen Twigg (Liverpool, West Derby) ex NUS president, patron of Workers Educational Association
Nicholas Dakin (Scunthorpe)
Diana Johnson (Kingston upon Hull North)
Yvette Cooper (Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford)
Kevan Jones (North Durham) ex GMB officer

1 comment:

Sciamachy said...

All those with current union membership should be expelled from their union & blacklisted in future. This is an execrable example to set. Labour is supposed to represent the workers of this country.